Fourth National Research Platform (4NRP)

February 8-10, 2023 at UC San Diego


At The San Diego Supercomputer Center (SDSC)

Wednesday Afternoon 2:00-5:30 (6 optional tutorial sessions, 90 minutes each):

Tutorial titles and descriptions to be announced.

Wednesday Evening Reception at the Birch Aquarium 6-9PM


At Atkinson Hall / Qualcomm Institute (QI)

Panel speakers to be announced.

8AM-9AM: Breakfast

9:00AM-9:30AM: Keynote: NSF’s Computational Ecosystem for 21st Century Science & Engineering; Amy Walton

9:30AM-10:00AM: NRP & the Path Forward: Progress in 2022-2023 and the next 10 years; Frank Würthwein

10:00AM-10:50AM: Panel: Democratizing Access to CI and Democratizing Access to STEM via CI; Chair: Lauren Michael

10:55AM-11:15AM: Break

11:15AM-12:30PM: Panel: Open Infrastructure for an Open Society: OSG, Commercial Clouds, and Bring-Your-Own-Resources; Chair; James Deaton

12:30PM-2:00PM: Lunch

2:00PM-3:25PM: Panel: Expanding the Reach of the NRP through 5G and 6G wireless; Chair: Al Pisano

3:25PM-3:45PM: Break

3:45PM-4:30PM: NRP Application Drivers; Larry Smarr

4:30PM-5:15PM Panel: Global Research Platform’s International *RP leaders; Chair: Joe Mambretti;

5:15PM-6:00PM: Panel: Building the NRP Ecosystem with the Regional Networks on their Campuses; Chair: Jen Leasure

Dinner: On your own to explore restaurants on campus, La Jolla, Del Mar, and Convoy.


At Atkinson Hall / Qualcomm Institute (QI)

8AM-9AM: Breakfast

9:00AM-9:50AM: Panel: NRP Science Impacts: Chair: Subhashini Sivagnanam

9:50AM-10:40AM: Panel: Engaging underrepresented researchers and educators in the NRP ecosystem; Chair: Marla Meehl

10:40AM-11:00AM: Break

11:00AM-12:00PM: Panel: Reaching More Minority-Serving Campuses; Chair; Richard Alo

12:00PM-12:45PM: Closing Session: Open Mic for Participants: Chair: Kevin Thompson (45 minutes)

12:45: Box lunches, tours of QI, informal discussions. Buses to the airport starting at 1:00

Tom DeFanti, General Workshop Chair

Frank Würthwein, Program Chair

Susan Rathbun, Local Arrangements

Program Committee: 

  • Maxine Brown (University of Illinois at Chicago)
  • James Deaton (Great Plains Network)
  • Marla Meehl (UCAR)
  • Lauren Michael (Internet2)
  • Subha Sivagnanam (SDSC)
Categories: Events